Talking Drupal (talkingdrupal)
Talking Drupal is a weekly chat about web design and development by a group a guys with one thing in common, we love Drupal. With hosts Stephen Cross, John Picozzi and Nic Laflin.

Show Topic

  • How Drupal got started
  • Some key moments for Drupal
  • Open source and core developers
  • Drupal 8
  • Acquia Lift

Module of the Week

  • Project Module - https://drupal.org/project/project

Links

  • Dries's Blog - http://www.buytaert.net
  • Acquia - https://www.acquia.com

Hosts

  • Stephen Cross - www.ParallaxInfoTech.com @stephencross
  • John Picozzi - www.RubicDesign.com @johnpicozzi 
  • Nic Laflin - www.nLightened.net @nicxvan
  • Jason Pamental - www.hwdesignco.com @jpamental
  • Dries Buytaert - buytaert.net @dries

 

Direct download: TalkingDrupal038.mp3
Category:TalkingDrupal -- posted at: 12:00pm EST

Topics

  • Guest - Rick Manelius 
  • What is PCI Compliance
  • About http://drupalpcicompliance.org/
  • Who is at risk?
  • Validation Types
  • Payment Methods
  • Best approach for Drupal developers 

Module of the Week

  • File Field Sources - https://drupal.org/project/filefield_sources

Links

  • http://drupalpcicompliance.org/
  • https://www.pcisecuritystandards.org/

Hosts

  • Stephen Cross - www.ParallaxInfoTech.com @stephencross
  • Jason Pamental - www.hwdesignco.com @jpamental
  • John Picozzi - www.RubicDesign.com @johnpicozzi 
  • Nic Laflin - www.nLightened.net @nicxvan
  • Rick Manelius - @RickManelius www.drupalpcicompliance.org
Direct download: TalkingDrupal036.mp3
Category:TalkingDrupal -- posted at: 12:12pm EST

The Talking Drupal hosts don't have a set agenda in "Off the Cuff" episodes.  Today they talk about what characteristics a good Drupal developer and website have. 

Hosts

Stephen Cross - www.ParallaxInfoTech.com @stephencross

Jason Pamental - www.hwdesignco.com @jpamental

John Picozzi - www.RubicDesign.com @johnpicozzi 

Nic Laflin - www.nLightened.net @nicxvan

Direct download: TalkingDrupal028.mp3
Category:TalkingDrupal -- posted at: 3:29pm EST

Show Topics

- BuildAModule Winner of the Week

- Sending Mail - text and HTML

- Email on System Actions with Rules

- Subscription based emails

- E-mail/Newsletter Signup Services

Module of the Week

- Style guide - https://drupal.org/project/styleguide

Modules

- SMTP Authentication Support - https://drupal.org/project/smtp

- SimpleNews - https://drupal.org/project/simplenews

- Mime Mail- https://drupal.org/project/mimemail

- Notifications Module - https://drupal.org/project/notifications

- Rules - https://drupal.org/project/rules

- Views Rules - https://drupal.org/project/views_rules

- Views Send - https://drupal.org/project/views_send

- VBO - https://drupal.org/project/views_bulk_operations

- Flag - https://drupal.org/project/flag

- Mandrill - https://drupal.org/project/mandrill

- Mailhandler - https://drupal.org/project/mailhandler

Links

- Webfonts in Email - http://www.campaignmonitor.com/blog/post/3897/

- Mail Chimp - http://mailchimp.com/

- Constant Contact - http://www.constantcontact.com/

- Campaign Monitor - http://www.campaignmonitor.com/

- Login Reminder Email - http://nodeone.se/en/reminders-for-inactive-users

Hosts

- Stephen Cross - www.ParallaxInfoTech.com @stephencross

- Jason Pamental - www.hwdesignco.com @jpamental

- John Picozzi - www.RubicDesign.com @johnpicozzi 

- Nic Laflin - www.nLightened.net @nicxvanv

Direct download: TalkingDrupal023.mp3
Category:TalkingDrupal -- posted at: 4:03pm EST

Show Topics

- BuildAModule

- Drupal Meetups - our experiences

- Creating a Meetup

- Tips and Ideas

- Challenges

Module of the Week

- Auto Node Title - https://drupal.org/project/auto_nodetitle

Links

- Drupal Association Webinars - https://association.drupal.org/webinars

Hosts

- Stephen Cross - www.ParallaxInfoTech.com @stephencross

- Jason Pamental - www.hwdesignco.com @jpamental

- John Picozzi - www.RubicDesign.com @johnpicozzi 

- Nic Laflin - www.nLightened.net @nicxvan

Direct download: TalkingDrupal022.mp3
Category:TalkingDrupal -- posted at: 12:00am EST

Show Topics

  • Drupal users, roles and permissions

  • Field level permissions

  • Content Type permissions

  • Helpful modules

Module of the Week

  • String Override Module - https://drupal.org/project/stringoverrides

Links

  • Understanding Roles and Permissions in Drupal - http://drupalscience.org/node/13

Modules

Hosts

Stephen Cross - www.ParallaxInfoTech.com @stephencross

Jason Pamental - www.hwdesignco.com @jpamental

John Picozzi - www.RubicDesign.com @johnpicozzi

Nic Laflin - www.nLightened.net @nicxvan

Direct download: TalkingDrupal020.mp3
Category:TalkingDrupal -- posted at: 12:00am EST

Show Topics

Site administrator roles

Inline Editing

Defining Content Types to make content editing easy

Admin themes

Use site theme or special admin theme

Access from Content menu (almost useless)

Creating Admin Pages to Access Content

Written Documentation

In-person Training / One on One Training

Video Training

Module of the Week

View UnPublished

Modules

Field Groups - https://drupal.org/project/field_group

Theme Key - https://drupal.org/project/themekey

Links

Shiny Theme - https://drupal.org/project/shiny

Hosts

Stephen Cross - www.ParallaxInfoTech.com @stephencross

Jason Pamental - www.hwdesignco.com @jpamental

John Picozzi - www.RubicDesign.com @johnpicozzi 

Nic Laflin - www.nLightened.net @nicxvan

Kathy Beck - www.RubicDesign.com @kbeck303

Direct download: TalkingDrupal018.mp3
Category:TalkingDrupal -- posted at: 12:00am EST

Show Topics

- Design 4 Drupal

- Working on local machine

- Tools and software stacks

- Update two Drupal systems (keeping things in sync)

- Backup and Migrate

- Team development

- Source Code Management

- Drupal configuration in dev environment

- PHP Time Limit and Memory Size

- Admin and test user accounts

- Module of the Week - Devel Module

- Drupal PVD - http://www.drupalpvd.org/

Hosts:

- Stephen Cross - www.ParallaxInfoTech.com @stephencross

- Jason Pamental - www.hwdesignco.com @jpamental

- John Picozzi - www.RubicDesign.com @johnpicozzi 

- Nic Laflin - www.nLightened.net @nicxvan

Modules:

- Drush - https://drupal.org/project/drush

- Features - https://drupal.org/project/features

- Strongarm- https://drupal.org/project/strongarm

- Backup and Migrate Module - https://drupal.org/project/backup_migrate

- Boost Module - https://drupal.org/project/boost

- Masquerade -  https://drupal.org/project/masquerade/

- Devel Module - https://drupal.org/project/devel 

Links:

- Design 4 Drupal - http://boston2013.design4drupal.org/

- Cygwin - http://www.cygwin.com/

- Virtual Box - https://www.virtualbox.org/

- MAMP - http://mamp.info

- Coda - http://panic.com/coda/

- Tower - http://www.git-tower.com/

- Git - http://git-scm.com/

- Drush - https://drupal.org/project/drush

Direct download: TalkingDrupal003.mp3
Category:TalkingDrupal -- posted at: 12:00am EST

Topics include:

User Account vs Content Type

Handling First Name, Last Name and Title

Handling E-Mail and Phone Number

Drupal 7 RDF/RDFa

Images 

Handling Addresses

Handling Social Media Links

Microdata

Tips for selecting a module (more about this in Show #002)

Modules:

Auto Node Title Module - http://drupal.org/project/auto_nodetitle

Exclude Node Title - http://drupal.org/project/exclude_node_title

Email Field Module - http://drupal.org/project/email

Phone Module - http://drupal.org/project/phone

Image Editor Module - http://drupal.org/project/imageeditor

EPSA Crop - Image Cropping Module - https://drupal.org/project/epsacrop

Image Field Crop Module - http://drupal.org/project/imagefield_crop

ImageField focus Module - http://drupal.org/project/imagefield_focus

Twitter Module - http://drupal.org/project/twitter

Social Media Module - http://drupal.org/project/socialmedia

Microdata - https://drupal.org/project/microdata

Location Module - http://drupal.org/project/location

Address Field Module - http://drupal.org/project/addressfield

Links:

Drupal RDF/RDFa - https://drupal.org/node/574624

http://schema.org/

Hosts:

Stephen Cross - www.ParallaxInfoTech.com @stephencross

Jay Lee - www.ParallaxInfoTech.com @jayrandolphlee

Jason Pamental - www.hwdesignco.com @jpamental

John Picozzi - www.RubicDesign.com @johnpicozzi 

Nic Laflin - www.nLightened.net @nicxvan

Direct download: TalkingDrupal001.mp3
Category:TalkingDrupal -- posted at: 12:00am EST