Talking Drupal
Talking Drupal is a weekly chat about web design and development by a group a guys with one thing in common, we love Drupal. With hosts Stephen Cross, Jason Pamental, John Picozzi and Nic Laflin. Recorded weekly in a Google Hangout at www.TalkingDrupal.com
Talking Drupal #016 - Drupal vs Wordpress

Show Topics

  • Drupal and WordPress in the marketplace
  • Usage Stats - http://w3techs.com
  • Types of Websites 
  • Workflow of building a website
  • Add ons - modules vs plug-ins
  • Communities 
  • When to consider WordPress

Links 

  • http://w3techs.com
  • http://www.Drupal.org
  • http://wordpress.org/

Hosts

  • Stephen Cross - www.ParallaxInfoTech.com @stephencross
  • Jason Pamental - www.hwdesignco.com @jpamental
  • John Picozzi - www.RubicDesign.com @johnpicozzi 
  • Nic Laflin - www.nLightened.net @nicxvan
  • Adam Silver - kitchensinkwp.com @kitchensinkwp
  • Dustin Hartzler -YourWebsiteEngineer.com, @DustinHartzler
Direct download: TalkingDrupal016.mp3
Category:general -- posted at: 12:00am EDT

Show Topics

V8 and Backdrop

Types of Resources Available

Drupal in the Classroom

Online Resources

Drupal Camps

DrupalCon

Drupal Meetups

Podcasts

Drupal Books

Core Mentoring Hours

Drupal IRC

Communities

Module of the Week

Profile 2 - https://drupal.org/project/profile2

Links 

Lynda - http://www.lydna.com

Build A Module - http://www.buildamodule.com

Drupalize Me - http://www.drupalize.me 

Node One - http://nodeone.se/

List of Training Locations - https://drupal.org/training

Learning Dripal Events - https://drupal.org/learn-drupal

List of Camps and Conferences - http://buildamodule.com/drupal-camps-calendar

Code Academy - http://www.codecademy.com/

Drupal Core Hours - http://www.drupalmentoring.org

DrupalEasy - http://drupaleasy.com/

Lullabot Podcasts  - http://www.lullabot.com/blog/podcasts

Mustard Seed Media Podcast - http://mustardseedmedia.com/podcast

Acquia Podcast  - https://www.acquia.com/resources/podcasts

Using Drupal (book) - http://shop.oreilly.com/product/0636920010890.do

Definitive Guide to Drupal 7 (book) - http://definitivedrupal.org/

Packt Books - http://www.packtpub.com/

Drupal Mentoring Hours - http://drupalmentoring.org

Providence PVD - http://www.drupalpvd.org/

Hosts

Stephen Cross - www.ParallaxInfoTech.com @stephencross

Jason Pamental - www.hwdesignco.com @jpamental

John Picozzi - www.RubicDesign.com @johnpicozzi 

Nic Laflin - www.nLightened.net @nicxvan

Kathy Beck - www.RubicDesign.com @kbeck303

Jay Lee - www.ParallaxInfoTech.com @jayrlee

Direct download: TalkingDrupal015.mp3
Category:general -- posted at: 12:00am EDT

Show Topics

Creating forms in Drupal 

Types of forms (Contact, Login, Info Collection)

Webforms vs Content Types

Single and multi page

Results - Export Results to CSV

Useful Modules

Forms API

Module of the Week

Mime Mail (john)

Links 

Webform Related Modules - https://drupal.org/node/1526208

Drupal Forms API (7) - https://api.drupal.org/api/drupal/developer%21topics%21forms_api_reference.html/7

Modules

Webform Module - https://drupal.org/project/webform

Webform Conditionals - https://drupal.org/project/webform_conditional

Webform Rules - https://drupal.org/project/webform_rules

Webform Ajax - https://drupal.org/project/webform_ajax

Webform Validation - https://drupal.org/project/webform_validation

Webform Localization - https://drupal.org/project/webform_localization

Webform Mail Chimp - https://drupal.org/project/webform_mailchimp

Webform Paypal - https://drupal.org/project/webform_paypal

Hosts

Stephen Cross - www.ParallaxInfoTech.com @stephencross

Jason Pamental - www.hwdesignco.com @jpamental

John Picozzi - www.RubicDesign.com @johnpicozzi 

Nic Laflin - www.nLightened.net @nicxvan

Kathy Beck - www.RubicDesign.com @kbeck303

Jay Lee - www.ParallaxInfoTech.com @jayrlee

Direct download: TalkingDrupal014.mp3
Category:general -- posted at: 12:00am EDT

Show Topics

The Rules Module

What are Rules

Documentation/Tutorials 

Examples of using Rules

Useful Modules 

Links 

Docs: https://drupal.org/documentation/modules/rules 

Tutorials: https://drupal.org/node/878700

Tiny Book of Rules (pdf): The Tiny Book of Rules

Modules

Rules - https://drupal.org/project/rules

Webform Rules - https://drupal.org/project/webform_rules

Context Rules - https://drupal.org/project/context_rules

Hosts

Stephen Cross - www.ParallaxInfoTech.com @stephencross

Jason Pamental - www.hwdesignco.com @jpamental

John Picozzi - www.RubicDesign.com @johnpicozzi 

Nic Laflin - www.nLightened.net @nicxvan

Kathy Beck - www.RubicDesign.com @kbeck303 

Direct download: TalkingDrupal013.mp3
Category:general -- posted at: 12:00am EDT