Talking Drupal
Talking Drupal is a weekly chat about web design and development by a group a guys with one thing in common, we love Drupal. With hosts Stephen Cross, Jason Pamental, John Picozzi and Nic Laflin. Recorded weekly in a Google Hangout at www.TalkingDrupal.com

Show Topics

- What is drush?

- Benefits of using drush

- Installing drush

- Security and Running at root

- Where to run drush from

- Useful drush commands

- Site setup with drush

- Scripts and Make files

Links

Drupal - Drush.org

Drupal project - https://drupal.org/project/drush

Hosts

Stephen Cross - www.ParallaxInfoTech.com @stephencross

Jason Pamental - www.designco.com @jpamental

John Picozzi - www.RubicDesign.com @johnpicozzi 

Nic Laflin - www.nLightened.net @nicxvan

Jay Lee - www.ParallaxInfoTech.com @jayrandolphlee

Direct download: TalkingDrupal004.mp3
Category:general -- posted at: 12:00am EDT

Show Topics

- Design 4 Drupal

- Working on local machine

- Tools and software stacks

- Update two Drupal systems (keeping things in sync)

- Backup and Migrate

- Team development

- Source Code Management

- Drupal configuration in dev environment

- PHP Time Limit and Memory Size

- Admin and test user accounts

- Module of the Week - Devel Module

- Drupal PVD - http://www.drupalpvd.org/

Hosts:

- Stephen Cross - www.ParallaxInfoTech.com @stephencross

- Jason Pamental - www.hwdesignco.com @jpamental

- John Picozzi - www.RubicDesign.com @johnpicozzi 

- Nic Laflin - www.nLightened.net @nicxvan

Modules:

- Drush - https://drupal.org/project/drush

- Features - https://drupal.org/project/features

- Strongarm- https://drupal.org/project/strongarm

- Backup and Migrate Module - https://drupal.org/project/backup_migrate

- Boost Module - https://drupal.org/project/boost

- Masquerade -  https://drupal.org/project/masquerade/

- Devel Module - https://drupal.org/project/devel 

Links:

- Design 4 Drupal - http://boston2013.design4drupal.org/

- Cygwin - http://www.cygwin.com/

- Virtual Box - https://www.virtualbox.org/

- MAMP - http://mamp.info

- Coda - http://panic.com/coda/

- Tower - http://www.git-tower.com/

- Git - http://git-scm.com/

- Drush - https://drupal.org/project/drush

Direct download: TalkingDrupal003.mp3
Category:TalkingDrupal -- posted at: 12:00am EDT

Show Topics:

- Search for a Module

- Searching in Drupal.org or Google (site:drupal.org  keyword)

- Criteria for choosing a module

- Process for testing modules

- Module of the Week

Modules:

- Views Conditional - https://drupal.org/project/views_conditional

- Filter Module - https://drupal.org/project/module_filter

Links:

- Drupal IRC - https://drupal.org/irc

- Nick Lewis  - 40+ Essential Drupal Modules  - http://www.nicklewis.org/40-essential-drupal-6-modules

- Drush - https://drupal.org/project/drush

- Comparison on Contributed Modules - https://drupal.org/node/266179

- MAMP - http://www.mamp.info/

- Trevor - @tdsportsfacts

Module of the Week

Filter Module - https://drupal.org/project/module_filter

Hosts:

Stephen Cross - www.ParallaxInfoTech.com @stephencross

Jay Lee - www.ParallaxInfoTech.com @jayrandolphlee

Jason Pamental - www.hwdesignco.com @jpamental

John Picozzi - www.RubicDesign.com @johnpicozzi 

Nic Laflin - www.nLightened.net @nicxvan

Direct download: TalkingDrupal002.mp3
Category:general -- posted at: 12:00am EDT

Topics include:

User Account vs Content Type

Handling First Name, Last Name and Title

Handling E-Mail and Phone Number

Drupal 7 RDF/RDFa

Images 

Handling Addresses

Handling Social Media Links

Microdata

Tips for selecting a module (more about this in Show #002)

Modules:

Auto Node Title Module - http://drupal.org/project/auto_nodetitle

Exclude Node Title - http://drupal.org/project/exclude_node_title

Email Field Module - http://drupal.org/project/email

Phone Module - http://drupal.org/project/phone

Image Editor Module - http://drupal.org/project/imageeditor

EPSA Crop - Image Cropping Module - https://drupal.org/project/epsacrop

Image Field Crop Module - http://drupal.org/project/imagefield_crop

ImageField focus Module - http://drupal.org/project/imagefield_focus

Twitter Module - http://drupal.org/project/twitter

Social Media Module - http://drupal.org/project/socialmedia

Microdata - https://drupal.org/project/microdata

Location Module - http://drupal.org/project/location

Address Field Module - http://drupal.org/project/addressfield

Links:

Drupal RDF/RDFa - https://drupal.org/node/574624

http://schema.org/

Hosts:

Stephen Cross - www.ParallaxInfoTech.com @stephencross

Jay Lee - www.ParallaxInfoTech.com @jayrandolphlee

Jason Pamental - www.hwdesignco.com @jpamental

John Picozzi - www.RubicDesign.com @johnpicozzi 

Nic Laflin - www.nLightened.net @nicxvan

Direct download: TalkingDrupal001.mp3
Category:TalkingDrupal -- posted at: 12:00am EDT