Talking Drupal
Talking Drupal is a weekly chat about web design and development by a group a guys with one thing in common, we love Drupal. With hosts Stephen Cross, Jason Pamental, John Picozzi and Nic Laflin. Recorded weekly in a Google Hangout at www.TalkingDrupal.com

Agenda

- What is a Drupal Distribution?

- Who would use a Distribution?

- Examples of Distributions

- What can be done with a Distribution?

- Problems with using a Distribution as a starting point

- What makes up a Distribution?

- Sharing a Distribution on Drupal.org

- Using a Distribution for your own development

Module of the Week 

- Fast Permissions Administration

Links

- Drupal Distribution Page - https://drupal.org/project/distributions

- Open Public - https://drupal.org/project/openpublic

- Commerce Kickstart - https://drupal.org/project/commerce_kickstart

- Drupal Licensing - https://drupal.org/licensing/faq&

Hosts

- Stephen Cross - www.ParallaxInfoTech.com @stephencross

- Jason Pamental - www.hwdesignco.com @jpamental

- John Picozzi - www.RubicDesign.com @johnpicozzi 

- Nic Laflin - www.nLightened.net @nicxvan

Direct download: TalkingDrupal007.mp3
Category:general -- posted at: 10:10pm EDT

Show Topics 

- What is the Context Module

- Context conditions and reactions

- Benefits of using context

- Examples of how to use context module

- Adding Body Class with context module (Theme HTML)

- Background Images with context module

- Context based on menu item and/or path

- Combining conditions (and, or)

- Page template context hook

- Replacing block administration with context

- Features module and context

- Side Topic: Ordering Node Content

Module of the Week 

- Context Get https://drupal.org/project/context_get

Links

- Context Plugin Extras   https://drupal.org/project/context_extras

- Nic’s Drupalcon Prague Presentation Proposal - https://prague2013.drupal.org/session/daap-drupal-platform-love-affair-automation

Modules

- Context Module - https://drupal.org/project/context

- Context Get Module - https://drupal.org/project/context_get

- Context Date Module - https://drupal.org/project/context_date

- Context Breakpoint Module -  http://drupal.org/project/context_breakpoint

- Context Mobile Detect Module - https://drupal.org/project/context_mobile_detect

- Context Block Classes Module -  https://drupal.org/project/context_block_class

- Features Module - https://drupal.org/project/features

- Node Queue Module - https://drupal.org/project/nodequeue

- Draggable Views Module - https://drupal.org/project/draggableviews

- Views default argument from Context  Module - https://drupal.org/project/views_arg_context

Hosts

- Stephen Cross - www.ParallaxInfoTech.com @stephencross

- Jason Pamental - www.hwdesignco.com @jpamental

- John Picozzi - www.RubicDesign.com @johnpicozzi 

- Nic Laflin - www.nLightened.net @nicxvan

Direct download: TalkingDrupal006.mp3
Category:general -- posted at: 10:25pm EDT

Show Topics

  • Installing
  • Drupal Pieces
  • Key Concepts
  • What are your goals?
  • First Website 
Hosts
  • Stephen Cross - www.ParallaxInfoTech.com @stephencross
  • Jay Lee - www.ParallaxInfoTech.com 
  • Jason Pamental - www.hwdesignco.com @jpamental
  • John Picozzi - www.RubicDesign.com @johnpicozzi 
  • Nic Laflin - www.nLightened.net @nicxvan
Direct download: TalkingDrupal005.mp3
Category:general -- posted at: 12:00am EDT