Talking Drupal
Talking Drupal is a weekly chat about web design and development by a group a guys with one thing in common, we love Drupal. With hosts Stephen Cross, Jason Pamental, John Picozzi and Nic Laflin. Recorded weekly in a Google Hangout at www.TalkingDrupal.com

Show Topics

  • Content authoring, access & approval
  • Authoring: permissions by content type, taxonomy, role
  • Content Access
  • What does Drupal do out of the box?
  • Taxonomy Access Control
  • Content Access
  • Node Access
  • Field Permissions 
  • Organic Groups
  • Tips
  • Approval: editorial state, draft mode, live mode

Module of the Week 

  • Masquerade - https://drupal.org/project/masquerade

Modules

  • Contact Access Control - http://drupal.org/project/content_access
  • Field Permissions - https://drupal.org/project/field_permissions
  • Taxonomy Access Control - https://drupal.org/project/taxonomy_access
  • Node Access - https://drupal.org/project/node_access
  • Fast Permission Administration- https://drupal.org/project/fpa
  • Organic Groups - https://drupal.org/project/OG
  • Revisioning - https://drupal.org/project/revisioning
  • View unpublished - https://drupal.org/project/view_unpublished
  • Node Access User Reference - https://drupal.org/project/nodeaccess_userreference
  • Devel Module - https://drupal.org/project/devel
  • Role Assign - https://drupal.org/project/roleassign
  • Custom Permissions - https://drupal.org/project/config_perms
  • Masquerade - https://drupal.org/project/masquerade

Hosts

  • Stephen Cross - www.ParallaxInfoTech.com @stephencross
  • Jason Pamental - www.hwdesignco.com @jpamental
  • John Picozzi - www.RubicDesign.com @johnpicozzi 
  • Nic Laflin - www.nLightened.net @nicxvan
Direct download: TalkingDrupal012.mp3
Category:general -- posted at: 12:00am EDT

Talking Drupal #011 - Drupal Commerce

Agenda

  • E-Commerce and Drupal
  • Drupal Commerce vs Commerce Kickstarter (Module vs Distribution)
  • Key Concepts for Commerce
  • Getting started with Commerce
  • Key features of Commerce

Module of the Week 

  • Commerce Google Analytics

Links

  • http://www.drupalcommerce.org/

Modules

  • Drupal Commerce - http://www.drupalcommerce.org/
  • Ubercart - https://drupal.org/project/ubercart
  • Kickstart Distribution - https://drupal.org/project/commerce_kickstart
  • Secure Pages - https://drupal.org/project/securepages
  • Commerce File - https://drupal.org/project/commerce_file

Hosts

  • Stephen Cross - www.ParallaxInfoTech.com @stephencross
  • Jay Lee - www.ParallaxInfoTech.com @jayrlee
  • Jason Pamental - www.hwdesignco.com @jpamental
  • John Picozzi - www.RubicDesign.com @johnpicozzi 
  • Nic Laflin - www.nLightened.net @nicxvan
Direct download: TalkingDrupal011.mp3
Category:general -- posted at: 12:00am EDT

Show Topics

  • Calendar
  • Use Cases 
  • Dates in Drupal
  • Date vs Date Time
  • Multi Day Evetns
  • Calendar Interface
  • iCal Integration

Module of the Week 

  • Fullcalendar 

Modules 

Calendar

Date_iCal

Job_Scheduler

Feeds

iCalCreator (php library)

FullCalendar

FullCalendar (Library)

Links

http://janepickens.com/calendar

worcesterfencing.nlightened.net

Hosts

Stephen Cross - www.ParallaxInfoTech.com @stephencross

Jay Lee - www.ParallaxInfoTech.com @jayrlee

Jason Pamental - www.hwdesignco.com @jpamental

John Picozzi - www.RubicDesign.com @johnpicozzi 

Nic Laflin - www.nLightened.net @nicxvan

Direct download: TalkingDrupal010.mp3
Category:general -- posted at: 9:06pm EDT

Talking Drupal #009 - Views

Show Topics

- What is Views?

- Installing Views

- Basic Steps for creating a view

- Some Advanced Settings

- Features & Tips

- Contributed Module

- Resources

Module of the Week 

- CDN Module - https://drupal.org/project/CDN

Resources

- Drupal 7 Views Cookbook http://www.packtpub.com/drupal-7-for-views-module-cookbook/book 

- Site Building with Views (subscription required) http://drupalize.me/videos/site-building-drupal-using-views

- Views Askew (recorded webinar - free registration required) http://www.acquia.com/resources/acquia-tv/conference/views-askew-using-many-forms-drupal-views

- Intro to Views for Drupal 7 Series - http://drupalize.me/series/intro-views-drupal-7-series  (first two tutorials free)

Modules

- Views - https://drupal.org/project/views

- EVA - https://drupal.org/project/eva

- Views Bulk Operations - https://drupal.org/project/views_bulk_operations

- Views Accordian - https://drupal.org/project/views_accordion

- Views PHP - https://drupal.org/project/views_php

- Views Data Export - https://drupal.org/project/views_data_export

- Better Exposed Filters - https://drupal.org/project/better_exposed_filters

- Viewfield - https://drupal.org/project/viewfield

- Calendar - https://drupal.org/project/calendar

- HTML 5 Tools - https://drupal.org/project/html5_tools

- Fences  - https://drupal.org/project/fences

Hosts

- Stephen Cross - www.ParallaxInfoTech.com @stephencross

- Jay Lee - www.ParallaxInfoTech.com @jayrlee

- Jason Pamental - www.hwdesignco.com @jpamental

- John Picozzi - www.RubicDesign.com @johnpicozzi 

- Nic Laflin - www.nLightened.net @nicxvan

Direct download: TalkingDrupal009.mp3
Category:general -- posted at: 9:21pm EDT

Main Topics

- What is responsive design?

- Why does RWD matter?

- Where does it fit in with mobile strategy?

- Should every website be responsive?

- Getting started with RWD

- Drupal and RWD

Modules of the Week 

- Stage File Proxy - https://drupal.org/project/stage_file_proxy

- RespondJS - https://drupal.org/project/respondjs

- Adaptive Image - https://drupal.org/project/adaptive_image

Resources

- Responsive Web Design - Ethan Marcotte 

- Implementing Responsive Design - Tim Kadlec

- Responsive Design Workflow - Stephen Hay

Links

- One Day Conference - www.responsivebootcamp.com

- Best Responsive Theme Thread  - https://groups.drupal.org/node/175234

- Beep Edition - http://drupal.org/project/beep_edition

Sample Sites

- www.sailorsforthesea.org

- www.newportfilm.com

- www.disney.com

- www.microsoft.com

- www.marthastewart.com

Hosts

- Stephen Cross - www.ParallaxInfoTech.com @stephencross

- Jay Lee - www.ParallaxInfoTech.com 

- Jason Pamental - www.hwdesignco.com @jpamental

- John Picozzi - www.RubicDesign.com @johnpicozzi 

- Nic Laflin - www.nLightened.net @nicxvan

Direct download: TalkingDrupal008.mp3
Category:general -- posted at: 9:54pm EDT