Talking Drupal
Talking Drupal is a weekly chat about web design and development by a group a guys with one thing in common, we love Drupal. With hosts Stephen Cross, Jason Pamental, John Picozzi and Nic Laflin. Recorded weekly in a Google Hangout at www.TalkingDrupal.com

 

Topics

  • Dries’s annoucement of Drupal 6 support 
  • What challenges do we have today supporting D6 sites
  • What will the challenges look like when D8 launches
  • Migration path from 6 to 7
  • Moving forward
  • Business opportunities

Module of the week

  • Views field view https://www.drupal.org/project/views_field_view

This module allows you to embed a view as a field in a view. A new field handler is made available, so this can also be used in area (header/footer/empty) handlers as well as rows.

This view handler can accept arguments from fields of the parent view using tokens and pass them into the child view for each row. Raw or rendered token values can be used, as well as static values.

Resources

  • Dries’s annoucement of Drupal 6 support - http://buytaert.net/drupal-6-support

Hosts

  • Stephen Cross - www.ParallaxInfoTech.com @stephencross
  • Jason Pamental - www.hwdesignco.com @jpamental
  • John Picozzi - www.oomphinc.com t@johnpicozzi
  • Nic Laflin - www.nLightened.net @nicxvan
Direct download: TalkingDrupal054.mp3
Category:general -- posted at: 12:00pm EDT

Topics 

  • DrupalCon Austin sessions:
    • Semantic Site Architecture - Jody Hamilton https://austin2014.drupal.org/session/semantic-site-architecture
    • Battle for the Body Field: Drupal and the Future of WYSIWYG - Jeff Eaton https://austin2014.drupal.org/session/battle-body-field-drupal-and-future-wysiwyg
    • Digital Commerce Ecosystem - Commerce Guys https://austin2014.drupal.org/session/digital-commerce-ecosystem
    • Collaborative Spaces: Integrating Drupal With Google Drive, Dropbox, and More - Dave Sawyer & James Barnett https://austin2014.drupal.org/session/collaborative-spaces-integrating-drupal-google-drive-dropbox-and-more
  • DrupalCon Austin stats
  • Code Sprints 
  • BOF’s (bird’s of a feather)

Resoucrces:

  • Site Architecture Plan Template: Plantir Build Spec 1.0 - https://t.co/pMk5IBATrl
  • Drupal Easy podcast Episode 128: D8 theming http://bit.ly/1tGEYYb

Hosts:

  • Stephen Cross - www.ParallaxInfoTech.com @stephencross
  • Jason Pamental - www.hwdesignco.com @jpamental
  • John Picozzi - www.oomphinc.com t@johnpicozzi
  • Nic Laflin - www.nLightened.net @nicxvan

 

Direct download: TalkingDrupal053.mp3
Category:general -- posted at: 12:00pm EDT

Topics

  • Key Note
  • Drupal 
  • Parties

Drop in Guests

  • Todd Ross Nienkerk - Four Kitchens https://fourkitchens.com/team/todd-ross-nienkerk/
  • Kay VanValkenburgh - OwnSourcing - http://ownsourcing.com/

Resources

  • http://buytaert.net/the-investment-case-for-employing-a-drupal-core-contributor
  • https://www.youtube.com/user/DrupalAssociation/videos

Hosts

  • Stephen Cross - www.ParallaxInfoTech.com @stephencross
  • Jason Pamental - www.hwdesignco.com @jpamental
  • John Picozzi - www.oomphinc.com t@johnpicozzi
  • Nic Laflin - www.nLightened.net @nicxvan

 

Direct download: TalkingDrupal052.mp3
Category:general -- posted at: 12:00pm EDT