Talking Drupal
Talking Drupal is a weekly chat about web design and development by a group a guys with one thing in common, we love Drupal. With hosts Stephen Cross, Jason Pamental, John Picozzi and Nic Laflin. Recorded weekly in a Google Hangout at www.TalkingDrupal.com

Topics

  • Guest Marc Isaacson
  • “Teach Yourself Drupal” Drupal Kickstarter Project
  • Project goals Objective
  • How does it work
  • Ridiculously Open source  
  • Kickstarter campaign

Module of the Week

  • Computed Field - https://www.drupal.org/project/computed_field

Computed Field is a very powerful field module that lets you add a custom "computed fields" to your content types. These computed fields are populated with values that you define via PHP code. You may draw on anything available to Drupal, including other fields, the current user, database tables, you name it. (Feeling the power yet? :) ) You can also choose whether to store your computed field values in the database with other content fields, or have them "calculated" on the fly during node views. (Although you should note that Views use requires database stored values.) This field is literally the Swiss Army knife of fields. So start cooking up your PHP based values!

Resources

  • Teach Yourself Drupal Kickstarter - https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/vegantriathlete/teach-yourself-drupal?ref=nav_search
  • Teach Yourself Drupal http://www.teachyourselfdrupal.org
  • ROOSTS - http://www.roosts.org/
  • Innovation Women https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/innovationnights/innovation-women-technical-and-entrepreneurial-spe

Hosts

  • Stephen Cross - www.ParallaxInfoTech.com @stephencross
  • Jason Pamental - www.hwdesignco.com @jpamental
  • John Picozzi - www.oomphinc.com @johnpicozzi
  • Nic Laflin - www.nLightened.net @nicxvan

Guests

  • Marc Isaacson -https://www.drupal.org/u/vegantriathlete @tydrupal

marc@isaacsonwebdevelopment.com

 

 

Direct download: TalkingDrupal075.mp3
Category:general -- posted at: 12:00pm EDT

Topics

  • NewdCamp overall results

  • Team

  • Handling the money

  • Selecting a Venue

  • Sponsors

  • Marketing

  • Website

  • Things we forgot 


Hosts

  • Stephen Cross - www.ParallaxInfoTech.com @stephencross
  • Jason Pamental - www.hwdesignco.com @jpamental
  • John Picozzi - www.oomphinc.com @johnpicozzi
  • Nic Laflin - www.nLightened.net @nicxvan

Guests

  • Ellen Diamond - www.hwdesignco.com @ellendiamond
  • Susan Krushinsky www.HomesBySusanK.com @HomesBySusanK
Direct download: TalkingDrupal074.mp3
Category:general -- posted at: 12:00pm EDT

Topics

  • Net neutrality

  • What is MailChimp

  • What is Mandrill

  • Modules to use with them

  • Implementation uses


Module of the Week

  • Mailredirect - https://www.drupal.org/project/mail_redirect

The Mail Redirect module redirects ALL system generated email to a test mail domain or address. This is especially useful when doing site testing which uses a production database which is populated with real email addresses.

Modules

  • Mailchimp - https://www.drupal.org/project/mailchimp
  • Mandrill - https://www.drupal.org/project/mandrill

Resources

  • Mailchimp patch for contextual links - https://www.drupal.org/node/2356065

Hosts

  • Stephen Cross - www.ParallaxInfoTech.com @stephencross
  • Jason Pamental - www.hwdesignco.com @jpamental
  • John Picozzi - www.oomphinc.com @johnpicozzi
  • Nic Laflin - www.nLightened.net @nicxvan

 

Direct download: TalkingDrupal073.mp3
Category:general -- posted at: 12:00pm EDT

Topics

  • Episode #71 - Jeff Robbins
  • What do we mean by Mobile Friendly Drupal?
  • What makes a site friendly
  • Modules to help
  • 10-15-14

Module of the Week

  • Front End Developer - https://www.drupal.org/project/dfed

Front End Developer provides an easy to use toolkit for theme developers that assists in the building of themes.

Features include:

* Displays current viewport resolution

* Displays common media query resolutions ( ie. Mobile, Tablet, Desktop )

* Highlights defined sidebar regions

* Highlights links that do not have a destination set

* Highlights images without alt tags set

 

Modules

  • Navbar Module - https://www.drupal.org/project/navbar
  • Adaptive Images - https://www.drupal.org/project/adaptive_image
  • Picture - https://www.drupal.org/project/picture
  • Flexslider - https://www.drupal.org/project/flexslider
  • Context - https://www.drupal.org/project/context
  • Context Breakpoint - https://www.drupal.org/project/context_breakpoint
  • Context Mobile Detect - https://www.drupal.org/project/context_mobile_detect
  • Fences - https://www.drupal.org/project/fences
  • HTML5 Tools - https://www.drupal.org/project/html5_tools
  • Semantic Views - https://www.drupal.org/project/semanticviews
  • Block Class - https://www.drupal.org/project/block_class

Resources

  • Macaw - visual web design tool - http://macaw.co
  • Brackets - new open-source code editor from Adobe - http://brackets.io
  • InVisionApp - visual prototyping & collaboration tool - http://invisionapp.com

Hosts

  • Stephen Cross - www.ParallaxInfoTech.com @stephencross
  • Jason Pamental - www.hwdesignco.com @jpamental
  • John Picozzi - www.oomphinc.com @johnpicozzi
  • Nic Laflin - www.nLightened.net @nicxvan

 

 

Direct download: TalkingDrupal072.mp3
Category:general -- posted at: 12:00pm EDT

On November 1, 2014 at Brown University in Providence, Jeff Robbins, gave the keynote speech at the first New England Drupal Camp.   

The Drupal community knowns Jeff as a pioneer in web development and Drupal, but did you know the CEO of Lullabot was also the front man for a successful alternative rock band in the 90s?  Jeff shared the lessons he learned in music and how they shaped his success building a world renowned Drupal agency

You can hear Jeff's speech, "What I learned from Rock and Roll" here.

 

Direct download: TalkingDrupal071.mp3
Category:general -- posted at: 12:00pm EDT