Talking Drupal
Talking Drupal is a weekly chat about web design and development by a group a guys with one thing in common, we love Drupal. With hosts Stephen Cross, John Picozzi and Nic Laflin.

Topics

  • Wade Winger Bio
  • Definition of Assistive Technology
  • Crossroads and InData Project
  • Web Accessibility
  • Legal requirements for providing an accessible website
  • Impact of current technology
  • Getting help developing website

Resources

  • Easter Seals Crossroads Assistive Technology - http://www.eastersealstech.com/category/assistive-technology-update/
  • Making your website more accessible Video Series - http://www.eastersealstech.com/a11y
  • Wave Tool Bar - http://wave.webaim.org/toolbar/

Legal Resources

  • http://www.ada.gov/pcatoolkit/chap5toolkit.htm
  • http://www.access-board.gov/guidelines-and-standards/communications-and-it/about-the-section-508-standards
  • http://www.jimthatcher.com/law-target.htm 

Online References

  • www.w3c.org/wai
  • http://theweco.com/
  • www.a11yproject.com
  • http://www.webaxe.org/
  • https://drupal.org/project/accessibility
  • www.webaim.org/toolbar

Local resources (state assistive tech act projects)

  • Www.EasterSealsTech.com/states

Module of the Week

Trasliteration - https://drupal.org/project/transliteration

Provides one-way string transliteration (romanization) and cleans file names during upload by replacing unwanted characters.

Generally spoken, it takes Unicode text and tries to represent it in US-ASCII characters (universally displayable, unaccented characters) by attempting to transliterate the pronunciation expressed by the text in some other writing system to Roman letters.

Hosts

  • Stephen Cross - www.ParallaxInfoTech.com @stephencross
  • Jason Pamental - www.hwdesignco.com @jpamental
  • John Picozzi - www.oomphinc.com t@johnpicozzi
  • Nic Laflin - www.nLightened.net @nicxvan
  • Wade Wingler - wwingler@eastersealscrossroads.org @INDATAProject

 

 

Direct download: TalkingDrupal049.mp3
Category:general -- posted at: 12:00pm EST